Jan. 24, 25


Omaha Symphony Masterworks Series

Alyson Cambridge, soprano

Oren Fader, guitar

Kiewit Hall, Holland Center

1200 Douglas St.

8 p.m. Tickets $27-$80

A fascinating, colorful tapestry of sound unfolds as the Symphony’s artists perform inspired work by eight American composers. Music Director Thomas Wilkins offers a vibrant exploration of melodies and rhythms of our part of the world. You’ll delight as Brooklyn’s Aaron Copland crosses the border to evoke popular music of Mexico. Carlos Chavez, from that same country, calls forth sounds of native Indian harmonies.  Bach’s concepts meld with Heitor Villa Lobo’s sense of a Brazilian sunset serenaded by birds, in a rare combination of eight cellos and one soprano. Plus the swaying of field hands leads into a wild gaucho stomp on the Pampas gracias a Argentina’s Alberto Ginastera.  That program includes beauty from Spain, Joaquin Rodrigo’s “Concierto de Aranjuez.” The following evening offers New York urgency by Leonard Bernstein, William Schuman’s evocation of early American religiosity and patriotism as well as Ferde Grofè’s beloved portrait of natural wonders, his “Grand Canyon Suite.”

Leave a comment